Skip to main content

What is the Presidential Leadership Council?

The Presidential Leadership Council is made up of graduate and professional student leaders from across different departments and student groups within Carolina. It is an interdisciplinary effort that seeks to mobilize graduate student voices from within and beyond the GPSG. The Council will meet monthly (or as frequently as needed) in pursuit of the following goals:

  1. Convene graduate and professional student leaders from across the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill to ensure that graduate and professional student voices—particularly the voices of underrepresented student populations—are authentically reflected in the work of the GPSG.
  2. Create opportunities for graduate student-led organizations to collaborate with one another, exchange ideas, and pursue core values of agency, belonging, excellence and wellness on behalf of the graduate and professional student body.
  3. Provide graduate and professional student leaders with the space to participate in advocacy efforts and respond to campus climate concerns that impact the larger graduate and professional student body.

Council Meeting Minutes

Meeting minutes from the Presidential Leadership Council can be found on the public archives.


Council Members 

Members of the Presidential Leadership Council include all members of The Executive Board of GPSG as well as the following members.


Allison Smith

amcsmith@live.unc.edu

Allies for Minorities and Women in Science and Engineering

 


 

Anna Parker

aparker5@live.unc.edu

Biology Graduate Student Association

 


 

Charity Lackey

lacklack@live.unc.edu

Black Graduate and Professional Student Association

 


 

Zari Taylor

zari@live.unc.edu

Communication Studies Graduate Student Association

 


 

Jillian Kern

jlkern@live.unc.edu

Comparative Literature and English Association of Graduate Students

 


 

Marissa Carmi

mcarmi@live.unc.edu

First Nations Graduate Circle

 


 

Serena Hutchinson

sddh@unc.edu

Gillings School of Global Public Health Student Government Association

 


 

Katie Slyman

kslyman@live.unc.edu

Graduate Mathematics Association

 


 

Gina Mangravite

gmangrav@live.unc.edu

Graduate Romance Association

 


 

Merrill Froney

froneym@live.unc.edu

Graduate Student Organization – Eshelman School of Pharmacy

 


 

Sean Mccann

mccannsm@unc.edu

Graduate Student Organization – Eshelman School of Pharmacy

 


 

Brandi Mitchell

brandijm@email.unc.edu

Hussman School of Journalism and Media Graduate Student Association

 


 

Jade-Angelique Marrero

jadea@email.unc.edu

Information and Library Science Student Association

 


 

Jill Toner

jill_toner@kenan-flagler.unc.edu

MBA Student Association at UNC Kenan-Flagler

 


 

Caitlin O’Loughlin

caitl.oloughlin@unc.edu

School of Education Graduate Student Association

 


 

Taylor Schmidt

twschmid@live.unc.edu

School of Education Graduate Student Association

 


 

Cayla Colclasure

cayla@live.unc.edu

Society for Anthropology Students

 


 

Kayla Cunningham

kmcunnin@email.unc.edu

Spurgeon Student Government

 


 

Vanessa Amankwaa

vka@email.unc.edu

The Minority Student Caucus

 


 

Sophie To

sophiebto@unc.edu\

The Minority Student Caucus

 


 

Elizabeth Powell

elizabeth_powell@unc.edu

UNC-CH Eshelman School of Pharmacy Student Senate

 


 

Madison Tobin

madison_tobin@med.unc.edu

UNC-CH Rehabilitation Counseling Association

 


 

Rebecca Van Hoeck

rebeccavh@unc.edu

UNC-CH Science Policy Advocacy Group