Skip to main content

The Senate is GPSG’s legislative body and is overseen by the Senior Vice President of GPSG. This forum seeks to discuss and reach consensus about graduate/professional student issues, and also to award funds for events and travel. Consistent Senate attendance enables each department/program to receive an end-of-year monetary allocation for its own social events.

All students and members of the public are invited to attend the monthly meetings. Email Kat Furtado, the 2021-2022 Senior VP, with any questions or concerns.

Meeting Times (unless otherwise indicated)
Date: 1st Tuesday of every month, September through April (in January and April, the meeting is on the 2nd Tuesday).
Time: 5:30pm
Location: Zoom


 

 

Senate Committees

All legislation, minutes, and archival information can be found at the GPSG archives

Appropriations

Name Department Email
Ishan Phadke (Chair) Economics iphadke@live.unc.edu
Emili Anderson Pharmacy emili@live.unc.edu
Zoe Dilles Information and Library Science zdilles@unc.edu
Glory Dan-Dukor Biological and Biomedical Sciences glory_dan-dukor@med.unc.edu
Emmanuel Saint-Phard Health Behavior esaintp@email.unc.edu

Rules and Judiciary

Name Department Email
Zachary Boyce (Chair) Law zacrboy@email.unc.edu
Marcela Abrego Public Health Leadership mrabrego@email.unc.edu
J Ehlinger Political Science j92@live.unc.edu
Manuel Galvan Psychology mjgalvan@unc.edu
Shea Ricketts Pathology rikashea@email.unc.edu

Travel Awards

Name Department Email
Berkley Wood (Chair) Environmental Sciences and Engineering berkleyw@live.unc.edu
Jackson Cacioppo Chemistry cacioppo@live.unc.edu
Lauren Caton Maternal and Child Health lcaton@unc.edu
Nicolas Moloci Health Policy and Management nmoloci@email.unc.edu
Audrey Pereira Public Policy pereiraa@email.unc.edu

SoGAPS

Name Department Email
Andrew Murphy (Chair) Information and Library Science atm212@email.unc.edu
Jesse French Media and Journalism french21@email.unc.edu
Cheryl Hooks Nursing hooksc@live.unc.edu
Claire Brito Klein Psychology clairebk@email.unc.edu
Joseph Moscoso Physics and Astronomy jomo101@email.unc.edu

Finance

Name Department Email
Joshua Bakita (Chair) Computer Science  jbakita@cs.unc.edu
Jamie Andrews Public Administration bandrews@unc.edu
Martin Arhin Medicine martin_arhin@med.unc.edu
Teebok Choe Advanced Dental Education tchoe@email.unc.edu
Toria Mullen Economics ttmullen@live.unc.edu

Oversight and Accountability

Name Department Email
Devon Maloney Geography dvm@live.unc.edu
Jasmine Johnson Education johnsonjasmine674@unc.edu
Ben Lasley Public Administration bjames1@ad.unc.edu
John Miller Religious Studies johnlmil@live.unc.edu
Preston Siegler Biological and Biomedical Sciences psiegler@unc.edu

Senate Minutes and Documents

Senate Meetings and Passed Legislation can be found in our GPSG Archives under The Legislative Branch. All archives folders are public.